IUB All Events

A Step in Time Across the Line: Recent Works by Chee Wang Ng

Event series runs daily from Mar 11 to May 8, 2017. (view upcoming)
  • Tuesday, March 28, 2017 all day (view)
  • Wednesday, March 29, 2017 all day (view)
  • Thursday, March 30, 2017 all day (view)
  • Friday, March 31, 2017 all day (view)
  • Saturday, April 1, 2017 all day (view)
  • Sunday, April 2, 2017 all day (view)
  • Monday, April 3, 2017 all day (view)
  • Tuesday, April 4, 2017 all day (view)
  • Wednesday, April 5, 2017 all day (view)
  • Thursday, April 6, 2017 all day (view)
  • Friday, April 7, 2017 all day (view)
  • Saturday, April 8, 2017 all day (view)
  • Sunday, April 9, 2017 all day (view)
  • Monday, April 10, 2017 all day (view)
  • Tuesday, April 11, 2017 all day (view)
  • Wednesday, April 12, 2017 all day (view)
  • Thursday, April 13, 2017 all day (view)
  • Friday, April 14, 2017 all day (view)
  • Saturday, April 15, 2017 all day (view)
  • Sunday, April 16, 2017 all day (view)
  • Monday, April 17, 2017 all day (view)
  • Tuesday, April 18, 2017 all day (view)
  • Wednesday, April 19, 2017 all day (view)
  • Thursday, April 20, 2017 all day (view)
  • Friday, April 21, 2017 all day (view)
  • Saturday, April 22, 2017 all day (view)
  • Sunday, April 23, 2017 all day (view)
  • Monday, April 24, 2017 all day (view)
  • Tuesday, April 25, 2017 all day (view)
  • Wednesday, April 26, 2017 all day (view)
  • Thursday, April 27, 2017 all day (view)
  • Friday, April 28, 2017 all day (view)
  • Saturday, April 29, 2017 all day (view)
  • Sunday, April 30, 2017 all day (view)
  • Monday, May 1, 2017 all day (view)
  • Tuesday, May 2, 2017 all day (view)
  • Wednesday, May 3, 2017 all day (view)
  • Thursday, May 4, 2017 all day (view)
  • Friday, May 5, 2017 all day (view)
  • Saturday, May 6, 2017 all day (view)
  • Sunday, May 7, 2017 all day (view)
  • Monday, May 8, 2017 all day (view)

What does it mean to be Chinese in today’s diverse global society? Through multimedia works of photography, sculpture, video, and installation, Chee Wang Ng asks this question and explores the possibilities with image rich tableaux of artifacts that range from documentary material to kitsch. With the rise of Chinese engagement with the world-at-large, Chee Wang Ng’s work recontextualizes not only traditional Chinese cultural imagery, but also modern constructions of race, identity and stereotyping viewed through the lens of history. Artist's talk, April 5 at 6pm. Part of the Global Arts and Humanities 2017 China Remixed Festival. 

Start
All Day Tuesday March 21, 2017
Location
IU Eskenazi Museum of Art
Contact Email
ahcounc@indiana.edu