IUB All Events

EXHIBIT: "The High Stakes of Macedonia's 'Colorful Revolution'"

Event series runs weekly on Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, and Friday from Aug 29 to Dec 17, 2017. (view upcoming)
  • Friday, November 17, 2017 at 9:00 AM (view)
  • Tuesday, November 21, 2017 at 9:00 AM (view)
  • Wednesday, November 22, 2017 at 9:00 AM (view)
  • Thursday, November 23, 2017 at 9:00 AM (view)
  • Friday, November 24, 2017 at 9:00 AM (view)
  • Tuesday, November 28, 2017 at 9:00 AM (view)
  • Wednesday, November 29, 2017 at 9:00 AM (view)
  • Thursday, November 30, 2017 at 9:00 AM (view)
  • Friday, December 1, 2017 at 9:00 AM (view)
  • Tuesday, December 5, 2017 at 9:00 AM (view)
  • Wednesday, December 6, 2017 at 9:00 AM (view)
  • Thursday, December 7, 2017 at 9:00 AM (view)
  • Friday, December 8, 2017 at 9:00 AM (view)
  • Tuesday, December 12, 2017 at 9:00 AM (view)
  • Wednesday, December 13, 2017 at 9:00 AM (view)
  • Thursday, December 14, 2017 at 9:00 AM (view)
  • Friday, December 15, 2017 at 9:00 AM (view)

Several years ago the government of the Republic of Macedonia embarked on an "urban renewal" of the capital city, Skopje. The initiative was seen by many as a highly divisive nationalist project. In 2016, these monuments and buildings came under attack by various groups of citizens. Using paint as ammunition, they defaced the edifices in an expression of revolt against the buildings and the perceived government corruption and disregard for the rule of law. This exhibit brings together the visual testimonies of three photographers: Robert Atanasovski, Vanco Dzambaski, and Kire Galevski. The exhibit is sponsored by IU's Russian and East European Institute; School of Global and International Studies; and the Department of Slavic and East European Languages and Cultures, and it will close 12/17/2017.

Start
Tuesday November 14, 2017 09:00 AM
End
Tuesday November 14, 2017 04:30 PM
Location
Mathers Museum of World Cultures, 416 N. Indiana Ave., Bloomington, IN 47408
Contact
Mathers Museum of World Cultures
Website
http://www.mathers.indiana.edu
Contact Email
mathers@indiana.edu
Cost
Free
More Contact Info
812-855-6873
Other Info
Free visitor parking is available by the Indiana Avenue lobby entrance. Metered parking is available at the McCalla School parking lot on the corner of Ninth Street and Indiana Avenue. The parking lot also has spaces designated for Indiana University EM-P, EM-S, and ST permits. During the weekends free parking is available on the surrounding streets. An access ramp is located at the Fess Avenue entrance, on the corner of Ninth Street and Fess Avenue. Reserved parking spaces are available on Ninth Street, between Fess Avenue and Indiana Avenue. If you have a disability and need assistance, special arrangements can be made to accommodate most needs. Please call 812-855-6873.