IUPUI All Events

2018 Athena Academy

Event series runs weekly on Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, and Friday from Jun 11 to Jul 20, 2018. (view upcoming)
  • Thursday, June 21, 2018 at 12:00 PM (view)
  • Friday, June 22, 2018 at 12:00 PM (view)
  • Monday, June 25, 2018 at 12:00 PM (view)
  • Tuesday, June 26, 2018 at 12:00 PM (view)
  • Wednesday, June 27, 2018 at 12:00 PM (view)
  • Thursday, June 28, 2018 at 12:00 PM (view)
  • Friday, June 29, 2018 at 12:00 PM (view)
  • Monday, July 2, 2018 at 12:00 PM (view)
  • Tuesday, July 3, 2018 at 12:00 PM (view)
  • Wednesday, July 4, 2018 at 12:00 PM (view)
  • Thursday, July 5, 2018 at 12:00 PM (view)
  • Friday, July 6, 2018 at 12:00 PM (view)
  • Monday, July 9, 2018 at 12:00 PM (view)
  • Tuesday, July 10, 2018 at 12:00 PM (view)
  • Wednesday, July 11, 2018 at 12:00 PM (view)
  • Thursday, July 12, 2018 at 12:00 PM (view)
  • Friday, July 13, 2018 at 12:00 PM (view)
  • Monday, July 16, 2018 at 12:00 PM (view)
  • Tuesday, July 17, 2018 at 12:00 PM (view)
  • Wednesday, July 18, 2018 at 12:00 PM (view)
  • Thursday, July 19, 2018 at 12:00 PM (view)
  • Friday, July 20, 2018 at 12:00 PM (view)

The Athena Academy fr Media Arts, Science & Technology is a program designed around Participatory Action Research a practice that emphasizes social change through collaboration and reflection.  The curriculum stresses a variety of research methodoogies, incorporates community organizing, emphasizes the importance of critical media skills, and trains scholars to produce multimedia projects.

During the program, participants divide into six "familias" to identify an issue of mutual interest, during the course of six weeks each familia is trained and charged with the production of a short stop motion animation called "issumation" and a short documentary  about the same issue. 

Start
Thursday June 14, 2018 12:00 PM
End
Thursday June 14, 2018 05:00 PM
Location
ICTC Building
Contact
Marjorie Hopper
Contact Email
marjhopp@iupui.edu
view calendar